Parkston, SD

Got to our homestay, and Jen (Mom Extraordinaire) is cooking a turkey AND she has vegetable soup ready in the crock pot. SCORE. She then shows us the entire menu for the week – Breakfast, dinner, and supper. And it’s all amazing. A little bit interesting to note that none of her boys were auditioning for the show.  She and Travis (who we found out later from some guys at the bar that his nickname was “tiny” and used to rock an enormous mullet) have three boys. Craton (a boy from across the street) was about a year old and came over one day and he was SO cute. We also played fun games – Scrabble, Cribbage, & Phase 10.

Pretty low key week – we had two kids with downs.  They were really sweet. It went pretty well until one of our contacts fell onto one of them literally dragging her to her seat. HOT MESS. Kids always trying to help even when they are in the way, which can be frustrating, but I think my SP and I did an awesome job. Kinda had a little melt down and talked to Kevin for like 45 minutes. Yikes, but I think it helped. I just needed to talk to someone about work other than Maggie who actually gets it.

This week I learned first hand the affect we have on these children. After auditions I’m setting up the other room for rehearsal and two girls enter the room to say hi to me. One i recognized, we just cast her as a damsel, and the other one I didn’t.  The second girl started to tell me a story

“last year I came to auditions and the director told us to say our name and age like we just won a million dollars. So I did but I guess I was too high pitched because the director said WELL I DON’T SPEAK DOLPHIN and I didn’t get cast in the show, so I didn’t audition this year.”

She was STILL upset about it, and remembered VERBATIM what the previous director had said to her. Moreover, she didn’t audition this year (and probably won’t audition for a play again) and she would have gotten cast this time. It was a cast all situation. All the kids were telling us how much better we were than the last pair.  Audition size went from 65 to 56 in one year. That totally sucked. So even if I’m REAL tired or having a crabby day – I need to remember to be energetic and just BE NICE.

Laundromat = the WORST. Boog’s was our spot. We met a man who did Missoula Children’s Theatre when he was a kid, and LOVED the program.  Still super supportive. Made some other friends, and saw the oldest Koolaid packets on the planet and the creepiest doll. Made Maggie pee in her pants laughing. Good times.

About katmyers


Leave a Reply

